top of page
  • thepineonline

Hairless Headmaster

by Parker Cullinan ’22



by Parker Cullinan ’22

Monday April 6 was a day of confusion for many after St. Christopher’s Headmaster Mason Lecky posted a tweet of his new haircut. He described it as a simple haircut that “went a bit astray,” not even slightly exaggerated as Mr. Lecky fully committed to a shaved head.

“It all started Sunday [April 5] night,” Mr Lecky said. “I lent the responsibility of cutting my hair to my wife, and so we began with 11-year-old hair clippers.”

Unfortunately for Mr. Lecky, a quick check of how much the clippers cut didn’t go so much as planned. “All of the sudden, the clippers are almost digging into my scalp,” Mr. Lecky said. “We stopped cutting, but at that point, I already had a reverse mohawk.”

Mr. Lecky was not pleased, and his wife suggested to just cover up with a hat. Unluckily for him, school meetings mean no hats indoors, and Mr. Lecky’s reverse mohawk could clearly be seen in every zoom meeting. “I follow all of the rules students do, meaning I had to take off my hat and start every meeting with an explanation about my hair.”

After complete humiliation and confusion, Mr. Lecky decided to fully commit. “Continuing with that haircut would not make me look so great to the community,” he said. “I had more meetings coming up with parents, students and more faculty to where I just decided to shave it all off.”

Rumors have spread regarding the possibility of other faculty and staff who might also shave their head for the remainder of quarantine. Director of Admissions Hamill Jones was the main person who was brought up, but according to Mr. Lecky, he himself has something else going on. “I don’t know if many have seen [Hamil] anytime soon, but he has a solid beard growing,” Mr. Lecky said. “I just really can’t see the bald and beard combo.”

Mr. Lecky did however hint at another staff member that might take up the challenge. “I’ve heard Mr. Hunter might commit to the look too,” Mr. Lecky said. “However, I don’t know for sure.”

While the community had a good laugh at Mr. Lecky’s haircut, his children were totally humiliated. “However, I’m sure this will all blow over in a few weeks. It’s honestly growing on me a bit, and I’m starting not to mind it, same with my wife.”


113 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page