top of page
  • thepineonline

Mid-Pandemic Photo Essays

Updated: May 18, 2020



By Henry Weatherford '21


I worried at first that my mother would die. Because of her job as an OBGYN, she would have to go to work everyday and get close with numerous people. I was scared she wasn’t taking social distancing seriously enough. I worried she wasn’t wearing a mask constantly.

I made sure she washed her hands thoroughly as soon as she returned from work. I didn’t touch anything she had touched without cleaning it off first, often to her chagrin.

But overt time as the pandemic ravaged on, I learned my fears were misplaced. My mother did not come home in a casket, but in her car, worn out from not only having to do her normal job, but also having to administer coronavirus tests.

I took this picture right as she came home in our bathroom for a physics project. If you were able to scroll just two feet lower, you’d find our toilet. She still wears the usual garb she wore before, but now she’s added a mask.

It’s strange to think that this might be what my mother has to wear every day in the future, to think that in a span of just a few short weeks, the way my mother does her job has completely changed. Perhaps she’s one of the lucky ones.

 


By Parker Cullinan '22


The seeming never-ending days of “coronacation” quarantine leave many bored and without ideas of how to pass the time. Some have found new or continue existing hobbies, such as sewing, reading, fishing and the all-time favorite “pass-timer” — video games. However, while somewhat ironic as people should be “sheltering in place” at home, I’ve seen exponentially more families outside enjoying the weather with their pets.

My dog has witnessed my everlasting love since he was brought home from the breeders. He’s grown into the family “therapy dog” and to be honest, doesn’t do much from day to day. However, when winter passes and spring arrives in a full bloom, even with a pandemic spreading and killing globally like wildfire, Cooper knows it’s time for a little more attention to be thrown his way. He wines hourly to be let outside to play, to go on a walk, or just for us to scratch that one spot we missed on his belly.

Luckily for my family and me, Cooper provides a great excuse to take a break from screens, school and technology, and to get outside for some fresh air and sun. He and I take daily walks across the street where I see the deserted St. Catherine’s campus, but I remain humbled by the men and women still on their job deep cleaning and protecting the school. Also while there, I get a firsthand view of the best thing spring brings, as April showers bring May flowers.

 


By Rohan Simon '22


This selfie was taken in my kitchen, while I was doing my calorimetry experiment for chemistry. This photo perfectly sums up spring 2020: alone, toiling away at school work. Confined to my own house, there aren’t many new experiences to be had. There aren’t any new people to meet. There aren’t as many enjoyable times unlike my stay in India, just a few weeks prior. Unfortunately, the isolation felt in this photo accurately reflects how I feel nowadays, and I’m sure many can agree — especially the Senior Class. Hopefully we get out of this soon. I’m ready for a return to normalcy.


45 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page