top of page
  • thepineonline

Pre-Pandemic Photo Essays

Updated: May 15, 2020



By Henry Weatherford '21


I could paint you a picture of this day if I wanted to. I remember cramming into Collin’s mother’s white car. I remember the pain in my back as I was scrunched by Oliver and Weston in the trunk. I remember the cold of waiting outside the Arthur Ashe Center. I remember arguing with my friends about whether we should sit on the bleachers or stand in the crowd. But most of all, I remember Bernie Sanders himself.

His speech was the same speech he gave every time. He criticized the powerful elite, the healthcare executives and, of course, Donald Trump. I expected all that. What I did not expect was to see over ten thousand people, young and old, male and female, gay and straight, all listening intently to the same man.

Though I have reason to look on this day with sadness now that he will never be president, I can at least remember that for one sweet moment, I was one with a movement that for just a few years changed the way our country spoke about itself.

 

By Parker Cullinan '22


The moment captured above was taken just days before the worldwide pandemic arrived in our home country, the United States. I remember a peaceful and scenic return home from the South River of Waynesboro, Virginia, to be greeted to select news sources announcing the docking of the Grand Princess in Oakland, California. I then told myself, “Here we go. This is about to be a lot bigger than most people think.” As it turned out, what I said was not short of the truth.

It was the week of spring break for all St. Christopher’s students, faculty and staff. My family, consisting of my brother, mom, dad, and my dad’s parents, all traveled to the capital of the Bahamas, Nassau. Luckily, our time was not cut short due to the virus. However high winds halted a chance to experience world-class fly fishing for bonefish, arguably the hardest and most rewarding fishing possible to attempt.

So, while our fishing, more specifically fly fishing, was not a “go” on the bahamian flats, Virginia was ready for our return. A quick hour or two drive away from home was made just the day after our return home from being out of country.

Even as thoughts of fishing in the tropical paradise of the Bahamian flats floated through my mind, I was still in awe of the beautiful, mountainous and nature-rich Shenandoah Valley. The river echoed a tune of solemnity and calmness, and most importantly, the fish were biting. If only our current times could revert back to the same calmness back then.

 

By Rohan Simon


This image was taken on Feb. 1, at my cousin Sharan’s wedding in India. The photo captures a vibrant Indian puja, a ritual that in this case is used to bless the newlyweds. Personally, this photo creates a feeling of warmth and happiness for me as it makes me think back to the fun memories I had in India, spending time with people I hadn’t seen in years. This picture also helps me reflect on how I took large gatherings like these for granted. I got to meet many relatives and learn so much about their lives, our Indian culture, etc. One doesn’t come by that sort of experience in quarantine. To think such a huge gathering for a wedding would be possible now!





58 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page